Prize Giving 2016

Every year we hold our school Prize Giving at Rongo-maraeroa-o-nga-hau-e-wha, Army Marae.  This is a very special day for our whole school.   Below that are our award recipients for 2016.

Acting Principal’s Speech:

Kia Ora Tatou,

Firstly I’d like to welcome everyone to Waiouru School’s 2016 Prizegiving and would like to make special mention of our invited guests. It is lovely to see so many family and friends here to celebrate the achievements of our wonderful Waiouru learners. Dave Milner, our Board chair would like to pass on his apologies as he is unable to be with us today.

This term Marama entrusted in me the role of Acting Principal while she took a well deserved break, and after 8 weeks in the ‘hot’ seat I can understand why she needed it! The term has been a great challenge and the best kind of professional learning a teacher could hope for. I’ve been very fortunate to be well supported and would firstly like to thank Kerry. Without Kerry our school would most likely cease to operate! If I don’t know something Kerry usually does. The work she does towards the smooth running of the ship is amazing – so thank you Kerry.

I’d also like to thank the staff for bearing with this inexperienced leader. I have appreciated your support while I’ve found my feet. Particularly I’d like to thank Anne Hall for looking after the Skywalkers this term. One of the hardest decisions I had to make about whether or not I would take on the role was deciding if I could bear to part with my lovely class so it has been nice to know they are being so well cared for.

Skywalkers – Thank you for looking after Mrs Hall so well this term. And thank you from the bottom of my heart for looking after me this year! Your enthusiasm for learning is an inspiration, hold on to that and reach for the stars.

To the Board, thanks for giving me a shot in this role and thanks for being the people that have stepped forward to guide the direction of our school.

To our friends and family here today, thank you for entrusting the education of your children to us and for supporting us in whichever way you can.

To our learners. You guys are amazing! You work so hard and you make your teachers very proud. Each and every one of you has the potential to do sensational things. Reach for the stars and aspire to be great.

As 2016 draws to a close we naturally start to reflect on the year that’s been. As always we welcomed newly posted students and their families, we farewelled some during the year, we slept overnight at the marae, we swam, we did athletics, we visited other schools for sports. We have danced, we have had Harold the Giraffe and the Wonky Donkey visit, we performed at the Cultural Festival. We have farewelled two long serving teachers, Mrs Corbett and Mrs Bell. We have welcomed two new teachers, Mrs H and Mrs Smith.

We have been busy! We have had a great time.

Unfortunately end of year also means saying goodbye. To those of you who are leaving us for new postings. We wish you all the very best. To our Year 8 students, you are about to embark on the next step of your journey. The ball is in your court and the your success depends on you. So stay true to yourself, try your best and make us and yourselves proud. Make sure you come back and tell us how you’re doing.

To finish I’d like to wish everyone a very happy festive season. Stay safe and may you enjoy fun times with those you love over the summer.

2016 Awards and Cups

Waiouru RSA Women’s section trophy Junior  Speechmaker

Year Five and Six

Ambrose Demchy
Waiouru RSA Women’s section trophy Senior Speechmaker

Year Seven and Eight

Kayla Jordan
S & M Vine Fairplay Cup

Junior – Year Four and Under

Intermediate – Year Five and Six

Senior – Year Seven and Eight

Junior – Hunter Cross

Intermediate – Breeanah Tweeddale

Senior – Cullen Cross

Wanganui Savings Bank Cup for helpfulness and cheerfulness

Junior – Year Four and Under

Intermediate – Year Five and Six

Senior – Year Seven and Eight

Junior – Charlee-Jayne Hadley

Intermediate –  Devon Griffin-Chappel

Senior – Elaina-Jade Vine

Waiouru Primary Sports Cup Midget

Year Two and Three

Boy – Ihaia Nathan

Girl- Michaela Parker

Waiouru Primary Sports Cup  Junior Boy/Junior Girl

Year Four and Five

Boy – Zinadarne Taumata-Niania-Taputoro

Girl- Mackenzie Cole

Waiouru Primary Sports Cup  Intermediate Boy/Intermediate Girl

Year Six and Seven

Boy – Jeremiah Mihaere

Girl- Madison Cole

Waiouru Primary Sports Cup  Senior Boy/Senior Girl

Year Eight

Boy – Cullen Cross

Girl- Mackenzie Hulena & Alyssa Parkinson

Waiouru Primary School Most Promising Cross Country Runner  – Running for the love of it Neil Hakopes
Harding Trophy For Excellence in Computer Skills Alyssa Parkinson
Joss Richardson Instrumental Music Trophy Jordan Wiseman
Rongo-marae-roa-o-nga-hau-e-wha Taonga for positive attitude towards Te Reo and Tikanga Maori Malhi-Khol McCLay
Joe Pohatu Prize for Cultural Leadership Silas McNaught
Waiouru Enviro cup Diamonds
WPS House Shield Ngauruhoe
Waiouru School Academic Achievement Cup for best overall academic student Mackenzie Hulena


Academic Awards 2016
Year One Mikayla Taitoko
Year Two Caitlyn Hughes
Year Three Michaela Parker & Tanesia Burt
Year Four Jessica Hulena
Year Five Ambrose Demchy & Mackenzie Cole
Year Six Jordan Wiseman & Crighton Parkinson
Year Seven Kayla Jordan


2016 Class Certificates

Most Improved: Cullen Cross

Love of Learning: Madison Cole

Respect & Honour: Kahupine Ham-Taipeti


Most Improved: Kayleb Stevens

Love of Learning: Breeanah Tweeddale

Respect & Honour: Jamie Taitoko


Most Improved: Fenn Lewellen

Love of Learning: Gabby Callaghan

Respect, Honour: Alexcia Pomare


Most Improved: Judah Lodoviko

Love of Learning: Nico Mildon-Cant

Respect & Honour: Jaxon Tiseli


Most Improved: Isabella Stephens

Love of Learning: Te Atawhai Linkhorn

Respect & Honour: Mai Hawaiki Kameta


Most Improved: Jason Young

Love of Learning: Amelia Bethell

Respect & Honour: Storm Ratima